Skip to main content

Accessibility Hall of Fame

The Accessibility Hall of Fame recognises individuals who have made significant contributions to the promotion and adoption of digital access within their working environment and community.

The nomination process encourages people with disability, their families and carers to acknowledge a person who has worked to make a significant difference in their life. Inductees into the Accessibility Hall of Fame are announced every two years at the Australian Access Awards

A smiling woman looking at the camera, with a red jumper.

2023 – Liddy Nevile

Liddy Nevile, credited as the founder of the digital accessibility movement in Australia, has led OZeWAI for several decades, nurturing a community dedicated to accessibility. Her contributions to international standards, including DC and ISO metadata and accessibility standards, have been instrumental in shaping global accessibility initiatives.

Image is of a smiling woman with long dark hair, wearing a white dress with a black squared pattern.

2023 – Vithya Vijayakumare
Vithya Vijayakumare’s commitment transcends boundaries as she orchestrates international speakers to highlight cutting-edge developments in digital accessibility. For nearly a decade, she has been instrumental in driving the Perth Web Accessibility Camp, serving as both a committee representative and a key planner for five years, empowering organisations and fostering accessibility awareness through workshops.

Jane Ots. Portrait

2021 – Jane Ots

Jane Ots has worked in accessibility since 2017 as a key driver of accessibility initiatives at GESB, the WA State Government superannuation fund. In her capacity as Digital Communication Specialist, she led the successful implementation of the GESB website and other online initiatives to achieve outstanding compliance against WCAG 2.0 level AA criteria. Jane has been instrumental in helping GESB embed accessibility into culture, training and practice, and is providing her expertise as a member of GESB’s Disability Access and Inclusion Plan committee.

2019 – Gian Wild

2019 – Gian Wild

Gian has worked in the accessibility industry since 1998. She spent seven years on the W3C Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) Working Group, contributed to the W3C Evaluation and Repair Tools Working Group and the W3C Authoring Tools Accessibility Guidelines Working Group, and spent six years contributing to the development of WCAG2. Gian has worked with the United Nations, and is the founder of AccessibilityOz.